People | Cllr Maura Hickey

Cllr Maura Hickey

Causeway Coast and Glens Council

07749 093798

Born in Belfast, Maura lived in Andersonstown until she married and moved to North Belfast in 1971. Maura attended Rathmore School and graduated from UU Belfast with diplomas in Community Development and Community Relations. She managed a large Hairdressing Saloon in Belfast for 10 years before retiring to raise her family.

Maura became involved in politics and ran three successful campaigns for Alban Maginness, convinced of the need for peace and reconciliation.

Having holidayed in Portstewart for several years, Maura and her family moved permanently there in 1999.

Maura was elected to Coleraine Borough council to represent the Skerries Area in 2005.

During her council terms Maura has served as Deputy Mayor on two occasions. She has chaired both the District Policing Partnership and the Policing Community Safety Partnership. She is currently a member of the steering group for the Regeneration of Portrush and was a member of the Revitalise Programme for Portrush.

Maura is on the Development Project Board and the Steering Group for the development of the Sports Village at Rugby Avenue Coleraine. She is a dedicated member of the Revitalise Programme Portstewart, and The Environmental Improvement Scheme for Portstewart.

She represents Coleraine Borough Council as a harbour commissioner. She is also a member of the Riverside Theatre Management Board. Maura represents the Ratepayers of Coleraine on Planning, Leisure and Environment, Policy and Development and Audit Committees. She also represents Coleraine Borough Council on many other outside bodies too numerous to mention. She is involved with many local community groups, e.g. Portstewart Community Association, Portstewart Vision and currently chair is of Portstewart Music Festival.

Maura is a member of the Statutory Transition Committee responsible for the governance, development and organization of the structure of the new Causeway Coast and Glens Council which will encompass Coleraine, Ballymoney, Liamvady and Moyle Councils.

:: Back to People

Your Representatives